Escape Velocity

A slumber in the light of day
My comfort zone, tar baby’s arms
In depravity I slept away
Till true love showed Your charms

Through tears of joy I gave a shout
Your loving arms outstretched to me
Son light waxen warm about
Loosened bands and set me free

My arms in praise shot skyward
As my sinful heart of rocky clay
Was melted by my loving Lord
Whose riven side opened the way

Loving looks from Jesus’ brow
Colored tear stains down my face
Breaking shards that were my heart
Freed now by His amazing Grace!

My wings are opened by His breath
As the Spirit gains control
I gently rise above the death
For Jesus’ Love has made me whole

Leave a Reply

