A Lovely Russian Thistle

At the Dverse Poets Pub we’re sharing the voices of Spring tonight.
Here’s a voice you may remember from last year:

I’m a lovely Russian Thistle
And my pistils full of missiles
And my entry in your yard was not by chance

And whatever plants that you sow
My stingey Springers soon outgrow
Now stop and watch me do my little dance:

A shake-a, shake-a here
A shake-a, shake-a there
My little ones take over everywhere

Try to kill me, not a chance
On your headstone I’ll tap dance
For my kind likes to raise big families

I was here before you settled
You know nettles love to meddle
So move over, my homes ready if you please.

27 thoughts on “A Lovely Russian Thistle

  1. Grace says:

    I love the happy merry dance of these thistles ~ This made me smile:

    On your headstone I will tap dance
    For my kind likes to raise big families

  2. Beverly Crawford says:

    This is a joyful read. As if the thistles aren’t energetic enough, much of the birdseed sold includes thistle seed, and the birds are more than anxious to “drop” seeds in everyone’s garden!

  3. Sumana Roy says:

    ooowhooo, me foot tapping too in their glee but became a tad grumpy at “On your headstone I’ll tap dance / For my kind likes to raise big families”….sigh…

  4. Glenn Buttkus says:

    Here in Western WA state, we have to fight the moss dragons; annual thatching & replanting. I pay someone to do it now.

  5. lillian says:

    Just catching up with my reading and chuckling over this one. Those pesky nettles — they take hold and spread and you’ve captured that bratty little stance!

Leave a Reply

