Sol Speaks Out

We’re adding muscle to our verbs tonight in the Dverse Lounge. Kim has commanded us to use powerful verbs to bulk up our landscape poetry:

An angry ocre eye burns thru morn.
Sol suffocates the bayside breeze.
Seagulls scream, “mercy, mercy”,
neath his stony, unflinching stare.
He winches the tide in close,
Waves, wrenched of foam,
gasp, lie listless on shore.
Tourists scurry inside,
Toasted in his warm embrace.

Summer:
Just when you thought it was safe
To go back to the beach

23 thoughts on “Sol Speaks Out

  1. kim881 says:

    Wow, that was some day flexing verbs on the beach, Walter! Musclebound! I particularly like:
    ‘Sol suffocates the bayside breeze’;.
    ‘He winches the tide in close’;
    and
    ‘Toasted in his warm embrace’.

  2. lillian says:

    LOVE LOVE LOVE! You’ve flexed the verbs well here, my friend! Love the title and most especially these lines; “Waves, wrenched of foam,
    gasp, lie listless on shore.”
    and the first line as well!

  3. Frank Hubeny says:

    It must be warm there. I liked the last line about toasting. I remember being in Phoenix when it was 120 degrees (F). I went in an out of an air conditioned office moving from a breathable indoor air to almost unbreathable outside.

  4. Glenn Buttkus says:

    Damn, I lost my comment while endeavoring to post it (it was a good one too). Scorched earth crusade it seems, all across America–that damn Sol is giving us in spades what we begged for in February. Kim picked my fave lines–you utilized the form very well.

  5. sarahsouthwest says:

    I love that Sol suffocating the breeze. Some great imagery and lovely verbification. I’m sitting looking out at English summer rain, but I’m kind of glad, now, that I’m not sitting on a beach with you either…

Leave a Reply

