Disturbia in Suburbia

At the Dverse Bar, we have been inspired by Oloriel to write about the burbs. Her site is olorielmoonshadow.wordpress.com

Phalanxes of Flamingos
Spoiling for a fight,
Dancing their fandangos,
A great display of might.

Gnomings in a clature,
All armed in the garden;
Against their own nature,
Offering no pardon.

The times are a changin,
The HOA’s spoken.
Lawn ornaments quakin,
Must all now be broken.

The lawn war is mounted;
It has come to a head.
Last coup has been counted,
We must tally the dead.

Now headless Flamingos
Lay askance on the lawn
Gnomes in the death throes
Of their last waking dawn.

The gazing globe’s focus,
Frozen in a lidless stare.
Through some hocus pocus,
He’s become self aware.

When homeowners agree,
Good taste to defend.
Their tasteless decree,
Has gone off the deep end!

20 thoughts on “Disturbia in Suburbia

  1. frankhubeny says:

    I have a homeowners association to bow to and pay fees to at the moment. Of course, they make sure the grounds outside and the overall structures are maintained. Chores I am incompetent at. I only have a few square feet of space, in back where no one can see, available in which to put the gnome and flamingo.

  2. kim881 says:

    Love that title, Walter, it would make a great punk song! I’d forgotten about flamingos and gnomes in front gardens – don’t see many of them where I live. Such a sad image of those headless, quaking lawn ornaments.

  3. lillian says:

    Late to post and late to read on this prompt.
    Chuckled out loud at your disturbia! My dad bought a weird cement pedestal and one of thos glazed balls and put them right at the beginning of the sidewalk up to our front door. I haven’t thought of that in years!! It truly was weird! Thanks for the smiles and the memories with your post. Loved it!

  4. Oloriel says:

    It puzzles me how we all, I think and from what I have read throughout the years, write about garden gnomes in a same way. It makes them appear to me as very much alive. I loved your poem, the rhyme scheme eases up but also enhances the imagery in the correct places.

  5. Bev says:

    I LOVED your Disturbia! (What a clever word). I know someone who painted his front door welcoming red, and met with the disdain of his HOA. He fought his battle and won, as I recall. I owned a condo for a short time and had my own battles with the ach tung HOA….usually headed by self-important homeowners who have nothing better to do. Thank heaven you can see the humor … and thank you for sharing with us!

Leave a Reply

